Wk 1 – Art Experience – Plaster Casting

2017-01-29 (12).jpg

This week’s art activity was a great way to kick of the semester. It was especially cool because we got to spend a few hours on the beach and the weather was great! Also, I had never really done anything like this before and neither had most of my classmates so it was a learning and bonding experience for us all. Even the downtime spent waiting for the casts was fun because I spent that time to getting to know my classmates.

I made my two casts at the same time; one was a cast of my hand and the other was a half-sphere with seashells. I expected my hand to turn out poorly but had really high hopes for my seashell geode. In the end, I ended up really enjoying both my pieces.

However, I enjoyed the time spent with my classmates most. I made a new friend Priscilla, who is a nursing major; I soon found out that we have a lot of things in common and I look forward to talking to her more in the year. I also enjoyed some good laughs over Maryam’s piece of work which she had some disdain for but was unanimously chosen as fan favorite by others.

I plan to do some more casting in the future and look forward to improving my work(:

2017-01-29-13ย ( My hand)

2017-01-29-11(My seashell cast in the sand)

Leave a Reply

