Wk 2 – Art Experience – Dead Pool

img_6109img_6124

As soon as this project was assigned I knew exactly where I wanted to stage my death. This is the pool in my apartment complex. I have always been drawn to the aesthetic of the pool in contrast with the building and the sky. In general, I just genuinely love my building’s design and love to jump on any opportunity to showย case it (it is my header for this web page and has been featured on my Instagram and Snapchat frequently). I chose to call this Dead Pool, not because I was dead in the pool, but because the pool itself is dead. I have been living in this complex for about six months and I have never seen a person other than myself and my friends in this pool. I almost feel sorry because it is such a beautiful under appreciated pool so I’m glad I could give it some recognition.

However, creating this beautiful and dark scene came at a cost. The pool was freakin’ FREEZING!* I enlisted my boyfriend as my photographer and we had to formulate a game plan ahead of time because we knew I would not want to be in the water for long. I told him that as soon as he got good shots form the second floor, to run to the first floor. In the rush, he managed to get mostly blurry picture or pictures of me coming up for my breaths of air! Also, if I don’t look too convincing as a dead person, it’s because my whole body was tensing due to the freezing temp of the water. It was so cold that my skin actually felt like it was burning. It’s okay though, because it was worth it and I was well aware of what I was getting myself into.

Overall, I like the outcome and had fun with it too. It was kind fun seeing how fast we could get me in and out of the pool. Although, I wish I could have stayed in until the ripples stopped because it would have been really cool for my body to be floating in a glossy pool like it had been there all night.

*MY BUILDING DOES NOT HEAT THE POOL IT HAD TO HAVE BEEN LIKE 45-55 DEGREES BECAUSE THE CURRENT AIR TEMP IS 57 AND IT WAS WAY COLDER IN THE WATER THAN THE AIR

1 thought on “Wk 2 – Art Experience – Dead Pool”

Leave a Reply

