Wk 5 – Art Activity – Automatic Drawing

2017-02-26-8

When the idea was first presented for this project I didn’t really understand the reason for it. I’m a really busy person so taking a half hour to sit and scribble a picture isn’t really something I have time for. Regardless, I grabbed my boyfriend and sat with him on the floor of my living room. I didn’t have any paper larger than 8.5 x 11 so I had to use a piece of cardboard from an old box. This actually made it easier than if I had used a piece of paper though because it was stiff.

We turned the lights down, turned the music up, and sat. At first the marker didn’t really move but after breathing and relaxing our bodies, it became easy to move around the cardboard. After a little, I realized the appeal of the activity. I got to sit in the dark and basically meditate while transferring my negative energy into the page. Earlier that day, I got in an argument with a friend and was still holding onto a lot of negative energy. This exercise helped me to relax and move on from the situation and put my hurt feelings behind me. Also, after we were done, I decided I wanted to decorate mine further. Doodling is something I do to alleviate stress so I doodled on my drawing to help myself further relax over the situation with my friend.

If I were to do this activity again, I would do it with another friend because I think the experience will be different every time and different with the other people. This activity was fun and cathartic so I can see myself doing it again another day.

Leave a Reply

